Oh Manchester…

I’ve lived in Manchester for seven years. I’m originally from Sweden and lived in Stockholm until the grand old age of 19. Following a few years of gypsy-ing about (London/Manchester/Stockholm) I decided somehow that Manchester was to be my home. People sometimes ask me why (especially when I’ve just been extolling the virtues of Stockholm as the most amazing place in the world) and I really struggle to answer. I mean the weather is pretty awful, it’s not particularly cultural (one of my favourite museums, the Urbis, was closed down to be converted into a FOOTBALL MUSEUM), the people can be…fascinating, so to speak. But there’s something about it that I love. It’s just the right size (or as we would call it in Sweden – lagom), the culture it does have is creative and interesting, and the people can be warm and friendly and absolutely lovely.

I thought I’d share some views from my morning walk to work to try to demonstrate why Manchester is so special.

Manchester Craft and Design Centre

Good example of old and new mixed together

The old fish market – sounds glamorous eh?

And this is what I love about Manchester – the beautiful mixed with the somewhat bizarre (literally – you can see the reflection of the fish market in the window):

Cardboard cut-out of a police woman in the Chinese restaurant

I also loved these two dogs waiting patiently for their owner outside the Spar:

And of course, this collection of bike locks around a lamp post – but no bikes in sight:

To finish off, I can’t not mention the weather. It rains here. A lot. Autumn and winter is basically six months of torrential downpour. But it’s a good excuse to wear my amazing Tretorn wellies!

Leave a Reply

