Pretty in pink

So after living here for almost two years, I thought it was about time I did something about the drab magnolia walls. Since I live in rented accommodation I can’t go too mad colour-wise, but I’d thought about just painting two small walls – that way they’d be easy enough to paint over (back to magnolia, mmm) when I eventually move out. And like many decisions I make, something just came into my head and I went with it. This thought was ‘hmm, dusky pink? Yeah, why not’. Well…maybe because I’m not particularly, nor have I ever been, into pink? Not even as a child – if me and my sister were bought matching things, she always got the pink version and I got the blue/green/yellow. Does this sound like I’m traumatised? I assure you I’m not – apart from throwing a massive tantrum over some mittens at the age of about 8, it never bothered me in the slightest.
As usual, I digress. Back to the wall. I tried a couple of sample pots but they just didn’t do it for me. Then my boyfriend (genius that he sometimes is) suggested just sticking some swatches on the wall to see how they looked. Now why didn’t I think of that before spending 25 quid on tester pots?? Dagnammit. So I did as suggested.

I left the swatches (that’s four of each kind taped together, then blu-tacked onto the wall) for a few days, to see how they looked in different lights and which ones I liked best. The middle one was a clear winner from the beginning, and remained so.

Because this wall is so small, I only had to buy one litre of paint, so it wasn’t a particularly costly project (not counting the tester pots…). This (embarrassingly messy) picture from when I first moved in somewhat shows the wall in question:

It was literally only the alcove behind the bed that I was painting, so it didn’t take long. Well, it shouldn’t have taken long, but I started quite late on the Saturday, and because I wanted the first coat to dry properly, I didn’t finish it until the Sunday. And here’s the finished product!

At first I really wasn’t sure if I’d strayed too far from my personal anti-pink principles, but I’ve grown to really like it. The opposite wall will eventually be a green-y mushroom-y colour, but they’re far away from each other to not clash or look weird (I hope!).

Next project – chest of drawers. Here’s a sneak peak of what it has looked like since I “rescued” it from a communal hallway about…oh, five years ago?

Any wild guesses as to what fate awaits it?

Leave a Reply

